NEWJoin 2M+ software buyers|Get Weekly Insights, Trends & Expert PicksSubscribe free →

AI Software

7 Best AI Meeting Assistants for Teams (2026)

Rajat Gupta

Written by

Rajat Gupta

Published September 25, 2026

The short answer: For most teams, Fireflies is the best all-round AI meeting assistant: 100+ transcription languages, unlimited storage on Business at $19 per seat per month (annual), and conversation intelligence for sales. Otter is the value pick for English-speaking teams. Fathom has the most generous free plan. Granola is the pick if your team dislikes meeting bots. Avoma suits revenue teams that want notes, scheduling and deal insights together. Fellow suits managers who run agenda-driven meetings, and Read AI suits teams that want meeting coaching and search across email and chat.

Every price below is vendor-published, checked September 2026 on each vendor’s pricing page. Annual-billing prices are shown unless stated. We did not run lab accuracy tests, so treat accuracy as something to verify on your own meetings during a trial.

The best AI meeting assistants for teams, compared

Tool Best for Free plan Team price (annual) Bot-free option
Fireflies.ai Best overall; multilingual teams Yes, limited Business $19 per seat per month Chrome extension
Otter.ai Budget English-first teams Yes, 300 minutes a month Business $19.99 per user per month Otter app live transcription
Fathom Free plan for individuals Yes, unlimited recordings Team $15, Business $25 per user per month (2-user minimum) Bot-free capture in beta (Mac)
Granola Teams that dislike meeting bots Yes, 30 days of history Business $14 per user per month Yes, device-audio capture on all plans
Avoma Revenue teams wanting notes plus scheduling 14-day trial Startup $19, Organization $29 per recorder seat per month Not stated
Fellow Agenda-driven managers Yes, 5 lifetime AI notes Team $7, Business $15 per user per month Not stated
Read AI Meeting coaching and cross-app search Yes, 5 meetings a month Pro $15, Enterprise $22.50 per user per month Not stated

What is an AI meeting assistant?

An AI meeting assistant records or listens to your video calls, transcribes them, and turns the transcript into summaries, action items and searchable notes. Most join Zoom, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams as a bot; some capture audio from your device instead. Team plans add shared libraries, CRM sync, analytics and admin controls.

The category overlaps with three others. Transcription tools focus on accurate text. Conversation intelligence tools such as Gong analyse sales calls for coaching and forecasting. Meeting management tools handle agendas and follow-ups. The assistants in this list sit in the middle, and several have grown into the neighbouring categories.

How we chose these tools

We picked tools that sell a team plan with published pricing, work with the main video platforms, and offer a free plan or trial so you can test before buying. We compared them on published limits (minutes, meeting length, storage, AI usage caps), team features, integrations and security controls. Ratings from Spotsaas buyers sit on each linked product page.

1. Fireflies.ai: best overall for teams

Fireflies is the best fit for most teams because its Business plan removes storage limits, supports 100+ languages with a multi-language mode, and adds conversation intelligence and team analytics at $19 per seat per month billed annually. It integrates with video, CRM, dialer, collaboration and storage tools.

  • Pricing: Free; Pro $10 ($18 monthly); Business $19 ($29 monthly); Enterprise $39, annual only.
  • Standouts: AskFred AI assistant, Chrome extension that records without the bot, sentiment and talk-time analytics, rules engine on Enterprise.
  • Limits: AI credits (20 to 50 depending on plan) cap some AI features; recordings are capped at 2 to 4 hours per meeting.

See the Fireflies.ai profile and Fireflies.ai pricing, or our walkthrough on automating meeting notes with Fireflies.

2. Otter.ai: best value for English-speaking teams

Otter is the value pick for small teams meeting mostly in English. Pro costs $8.33 per user per month billed annually with 1,200 transcription minutes, and Business at $19.99 removes meeting-minute limits for up to 25 billed users. Its apps also transcribe in-person conversations on mobile and desktop.

  • Pricing: Basic free; Pro $8.33; Business $19.99; Enterprise by demo.
  • Standouts: live transcription, AI Chat across meetings, an MCP server for AI assistants, 20% education discount on Pro.
  • Limits: six transcription languages; 90-minute meeting cap on Pro; SSO needs 100+ users.

See the Otter.ai profile, Otter.ai pricing and the Fireflies.ai vs Otter.ai comparison.

3. Fathom: best free plan

Fathom gives individuals unlimited recordings, transcriptions and instant AI summaries free, which makes it the easiest tool to trial across a team before paying. Team costs $15 and Business $25 per user per month billed annually, each with a two-user minimum, and Business adds CRM field sync, deal views and coaching scorecards.

  • Pricing: Free; Premium $16 ($20 monthly); Team $15 ($19 monthly); Business $25 ($34 monthly); Enterprise by quote.
  • Standouts: 90-day guarantee on paid plans, bot-free capture in beta on Mac, AI follow-up emails.
  • Limits: team-wide search and account-wide AI questions sit on team plans; custom summaries need Business.

See the Fathom profile.

4. Granola: best for teams that dislike meeting bots

Granola takes notes from your device’s audio, so no bot joins the call, and it works as a notepad where your own jottings are expanded by AI after the meeting. Business costs $14 per user per month and adds unlimited history, integrations with Notion, HubSpot, Attio, Affinity and Zapier, plus API and MCP access.

  • Pricing: Basic free (30 days of meeting history); Business $14; Enterprise $35 per user per month.
  • Standouts: bot-free capture on every plan, audio deleted after transcription, desktop, iOS, Android and Apple Watch apps.
  • Limits: Salesforce and other advanced integrations, SSO and HIPAA workspaces are Enterprise-only.

See the Granola profile.

5. Avoma: best for revenue teams

Avoma combines an AI meeting assistant with a built-in scheduler and optional conversation and revenue intelligence add-ons. You pay only for “recorder” seats, and viewers are free, which keeps costs down when many people read notes but few host calls. Startup costs $19 and Organization $29 per recorder seat per month billed annually.

  • Pricing: Startup $19 (up to 25 paid seats); Organization $29 (up to 100); Enterprise $39, annual only, minimum 10 seats. Conversation Intelligence and Revenue Intelligence add-ons are priced per seat.
  • Standouts: free view-only seats, 1:1 and round-robin scheduling, notes saved to CRM records, dialer integration.
  • Limits: deeper sales analytics cost extra; no free plan beyond the 14-day trial.

See the Avoma profile, Avoma pricing and the Avoma vs Fireflies.ai comparison.

6. Fellow: best for agenda-driven managers

Fellow pairs AI notes with collaborative agendas, action items and meeting templates, which suits managers who run recurring one-on-ones and team meetings. Team costs $7 per user per month billed annually ($11 monthly) with 10 AI notes per user a month; Business at $15 ($23 monthly) makes AI notes and recordings unlimited.

  • Pricing: Free (5 lifetime AI notes); Team $7; Business $15; Enterprise $25, from 10 users.
  • Standouts: collaborative agendas, org-wide templates, Salesforce and HubSpot sync on Business, transcription in 100+ languages.
  • Limits: Team plan caps AI notes at 10 per user a month and seats at 20.

See the Fellow profile.

Read AI adds a personalised meeting coach and summarises email and messaging as well as meetings, so its search spans more than calls. Pro costs $15 per user per month billed annually, and Enterprise at $22.50 adds audio and video playback and video highlights.

  • Pricing: Free (5 meetings a month); Pro $15; Enterprise $22.50; Enterprise+ $29.75, requiring 5+ licenses.
  • Standouts: meeting coach and topic readouts on every plan, premium integrations (Notion, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Confluence, Zapier) on Pro, available as a Claude connector, ChatGPT app and MCP server.
  • Limits: audio and video playback needs Enterprise; HIPAA and SCIM need Enterprise+.

See the Read AI profile.

How much do AI meeting assistants cost?

Team plans for the tools in this list run from $7 to $25 per user per month on annual billing, and enterprise tiers from about $25 to $39 per user where the price is published. Monthly billing costs noticeably more: Fireflies Pro is $18 a month billed monthly against $10 on annual billing, and Fellow Team is $11 against $7. Most vendors offer a free plan, so a team can test on real meetings before paying.

Three cost drivers are easy to miss. First, usage caps: AI credits on Fireflies, AI Chat queries on Otter, and AI note limits on Fellow’s Team plan. Second, seat minimums: two users on Fathom’s team plans, five on Read AI Enterprise+, ten on Avoma and Fellow Enterprise. Third, add-ons such as Avoma’s Conversation Intelligence and Otter’s HIPAA option. Price the plan that includes the integrations and controls you need, not the entry tier.

Which AI meeting assistant is best for sales teams?

For sales teams on a mid-market budget, Fireflies Business, Fathom Business and Avoma with its Conversation Intelligence add-on are the strongest picks, since each syncs notes to the CRM and adds call analytics or coaching. Teams that need forecasting and deep deal analysis usually step up to a dedicated revenue intelligence tool such as Gong.

Sales use changes what matters. CRM field updates save the most time, followed by talk-time and question analytics for coaching. Check which plan unlocks Salesforce or HubSpot sync: it is Business on Fathom, Fellow and Otter (Otter syncs for up to 5 users), Pro on Read AI and Fireflies, and on Granola HubSpot comes with Business while Salesforce needs Enterprise. See the Fireflies.ai vs Gong comparison and the Gong profile.

Can ChatGPT take meeting minutes?

ChatGPT can summarise a transcript you paste in, but it does not join or record your calls by itself. A meeting assistant does the capture, speaker labels and storage. Several now connect the other way: Otter, Granola and Read AI list MCP servers or connectors, so an assistant such as ChatGPT or Claude can query your meeting notes directly.

For occasional meetings, recording in your video tool and pasting the transcript into a chatbot works. For a team that meets daily, a dedicated assistant is less effort and keeps notes searchable in one place with sharing permissions.

What should teams look for in an AI meeting assistant?

Start with five checks: which platforms it joins, per-meeting and monthly limits, where notes go after the call (CRM, docs, Slack), who needs a paid seat versus a free viewer seat, and the admin and security controls your IT team requires. Price per seat matters less than these once a team passes about ten people.

  1. Capture method. A bot is visible to guests; device capture is not. Pick based on your consent policy.
  2. Limits. Compare minutes per month, maximum meeting length and history retention on the plan you would buy.
  3. Seat model. Avoma charges only for recorders; most others charge every user.
  4. Integrations. Confirm your CRM and wiki are on the plan you are pricing, not the tier above.
  5. Security. SSO, SCIM, HIPAA and data retention controls usually sit on Enterprise.

For broader meeting tooling, see our list of meeting management software and the conversation intelligence and transcription software categories on Spotsaas.

Related reading: Fireflies vs Otter 2026: Pricing, Limits and Which to Pick

Frequently asked questions

Which AI meeting minutes taker is the best?

For most teams, Fireflies, because of its language coverage, unlimited storage on Business and integrations. Otter is better value for English-only teams, and Granola is better if you want no bot in the call.

What is the best free AI meeting assistant?

Fathom’s free plan is the most generous of the tools we checked, with unlimited recordings, transcriptions and instant summaries for individuals. Otter’s free plan gives 300 minutes a month, and Read AI’s covers 5 meetings a month.

Are AI meeting assistants secure enough for regulated industries?

Some are, on their top tiers. Fireflies, Granola and Read AI list HIPAA support on Enterprise plans, and Otter sells HIPAA as an Enterprise add-on. Ask for the vendor’s SOC 2 report and a signed DPA before rollout.

Do I need a paid seat for everyone who reads the notes?

Not always. Avoma charges only for recorder seats and makes viewers free. On most other tools, anyone who needs full access to the team library needs a paid seat, though shared links can reach guests.

Can AI meeting assistants join Zoom, Teams and Google Meet?

Fireflies, Otter, Fellow and Read AI list all three on their pricing pages. Granola captures audio from your device instead of joining as a bot. For Fathom and Avoma, confirm your platform during the trial.

How much should a 20-person team budget?

At annual list prices on the main team tiers: about $140 a month on Fellow Team, $280 on Granola Business, $300 on Fathom Team, $380 on Fireflies Business and $399.80 on Otter Business. Add-ons and Enterprise features raise these figures.

Spotsaas advisor
Find the best Video Conferencing Software for your team
  • Independent picks for exactly what you just read about
  • Matched to your team size & needs
  • Vendors don't pay for placement

Step 1 of 4

How big is your team?

We tailor recommendations to companies your size.

Trusted by teams at

Related Articles