Quick answer: For most US small businesses, Justworks is the easiest PEO to evaluate. It publishes its prices ($79 or $124 per employee per month), accepts companies with just two W-2 employees, and is IRS-certified. TriNet suits companies of 5 to 1,000+ employees that want industry-specific packages. ADP TotalSource suits businesses that want the backing of a large payroll firm. Sequoia One fits venture-backed tech startups, Rippling PEO fits companies that may later leave the PEO model, and Deel PEO ($125 per employee) fits companies that also hire abroad. Every other major PEO prices by quote. Vendor-published, checked September 2026.
A professional employer organization (PEO) becomes the co-employer of your staff. It runs payroll and payroll taxes under its own tax ID, and it offers large-group health benefits, workers’ compensation and HR compliance support. For a 10-person company, that can mean access to benefits plans that would otherwise be out of reach, plus someone else carrying much of the paperwork. The trade-off is less control over plan design and a harder exit. Below are the PEOs worth looking at in 2026, what each publishes about price and certification, and how to pick one.
The Best PEOs for Small Business Compared
| PEO | Best for | Published price | IRS-certified (CPEO) | Stated size fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Justworks | Small teams that want transparent pricing | $79 (Basic) or $124 (Plus) per employee per month, no base fee | Yes, since 2017 | From 2 W-2 employees |
| TriNet | Industry-specific benefits and HR | Quote only | Yes (a TriNet subsidiary) | 5 to 1,000+ employees |
| ADP TotalSource | Businesses that want a large payroll provider | Quote only | Yes, since 2017 | Not stated |
| Insperity | Hands-on HR service with its own or Workday HR tech | Quote only | Yes (Insperity PEO entities on the IRS list) | Not stated |
| Paychex PEO | Dedicated support team, including safety | Quote only | Yes (Paychex PEO entities on the IRS list) | Not stated |
| Sequoia One | Venture-backed tech startups | Quote only | Yes | Typically 10 to 200 employees |
| Rippling PEO | Startups that may leave the PEO model later | Quote only | Not on the IRS active CPEO list | Not stated |
| Deel PEO | US PEO plus international hiring on one platform | From $125 per US PEO employee per month | Not on the IRS active CPEO list | All 50 states |
Prices and claims from each vendor’s own site, checked September 2026. CPEO status checked against the IRS list of active CPEOs dated August 7, 2026. Ask each provider whether health insurance premiums, workers’ compensation and state unemployment costs are included in the fees shown; these vary by state, industry and headcount. Browse every provider on the PEO software category page.
How Much Does a PEO Cost for a Small Business?
Published PEO admin fees run from $79 to $125 per employee per month, and most PEOs only quote. Justworks charges $79 on PEO Basic and $124 on PEO Plus, with no base fee. Deel charges from $125 per US PEO employee. Your total cost also includes payroll taxes, benefits premiums and workers’ compensation; ask each PEO which of these are inside the quoted fee. Deel says benefits administration, payroll and local compliance are included in its quoted price.
Insperity describes the quote-based model plainly: its fee is built from direct costs (payroll taxes, workers’ compensation, benefits and liability coverage) plus a fixed-dollar charge per employee. That structure is typical of the quote-only providers, which is why two companies of the same size can receive very different quotes.
What the published prices mean at small-business headcounts, admin fees only:
| Employees | Justworks PEO Basic ($79) | Justworks PEO Plus ($124) | Deel PEO (from $125) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | $395/month | $620/month | $625/month |
| 10 | $790/month | $1,240/month | $1,250/month |
| 25 | $1,975/month | $3,100/month | $3,125/month |
| 50 | $3,950/month | $6,200/month | $6,250/month |
Sources: justworks.com/pricing and deel.com/pricing, checked September 2026. Compare these against a payroll-only tool: Gusto‘s plans start at $49 a month plus $6 per person, but Gusto is not a PEO, so benefits and compliance stay with you.
What Is a Certified PEO (CPEO), and Why Does It Matter?
A CPEO is a PEO the IRS has certified under Internal Revenue Code section 7705. The practical benefit for you: the IRS says a CPEO is generally solely liable for federal employment taxes on the wages it pays to your worksite employees. ADP notes that with a non-certified PEO, the IRS can hold the client liable for unpaid taxes, including penalties and interest (ADP on CPEOs).
The IRS guidance for CPEO customers states: “Generally, the CPEO is solely liable for paying the customer’s employment taxes, filing returns, and making deposits and payments for the taxes reported with regard to remuneration it pays to work site employees.” It adds that the CPEO and the customer may both be liable for wages paid to non-worksite employees (irs.gov).
How to check a provider yourself: download the IRS active CPEO list, search for the provider’s legal entity name (it is often different from the brand name), and confirm the entity on your service agreement matches the certified one. ESAC accreditation is a separate, industry-run standard that some PEOs also hold; Justworks, TriNet, ADP TotalSource and Sequoia One all state ESAC accreditation on their sites.
Justworks: Best for Transparent Pricing
Justworks is the easiest PEO to budget for, because it publishes its rates. PEO Basic costs $79 per employee per month and PEO Plus $124, with no base fee and no implementation fee. You need at least two full-time or part-time W-2 employees to sign up. Justworks says it has been IRS-certified since 2017 and is ESAC-accredited.
- PEO Basic covers payroll, compliance support, HR consulting and tools, 24/7 support, 401(k) and access to workers’ compensation.
- PEO Plus adds medical, dental and vision administration, HSA and FSA, mental health and fertility benefits.
- Add-ons: dedicated HR consulting at $30 per employee per month, time tracking at $8 per employee, and health insurance reimbursement (ICHRA) at $25 per enrolled employee.
- Payroll-only option: if you decide a PEO is more than you need, Justworks also sells a payroll plan at $50 a month plus $8 per employee.
Watch for: the per-employee fee applies to every employee, so costs rise in a straight line with headcount. Justworks does not name its insurance carriers on its pricing page; ask which carriers are available in your state before signing. More on the Justworks profile and Justworks pricing page.
TriNet: Best for Industry-Specific Packages
TriNet packages its PEO by industry. It lists dedicated offerings for education, e-commerce, financial services, life sciences, manufacturing, marketing and advertising, media and entertainment, nonprofits, retail and wholesale, and technology. It serves companies with five to more than 1,000 employees, and pricing is by personalized quote.
TriNet says it has held ESAC accreditation since 1995 and that a TriNet subsidiary is an IRS-certified PEO; the IRS list confirms a TriNet HR entity certified since July 2018. TriNet is publicly listed (NYSE: TNET) and was founded in 1988. TriNet says its pricing depends on factors including the state of your business and the size of your company, with a personalized quote after a consultation.
Watch for: with no published rate, you need competing quotes to know whether TriNet’s number is fair. Compare it head to head on the Justworks vs TriNet and Insperity vs TriNet pages, or see the TriNet profile.
ADP TotalSource: Best for Businesses That Want a Large Payroll Provider
ADP TotalSource is the PEO arm of ADP. ADP states that TotalSource is “an IRS-certified PEO (CPEO) and ESAC-accredited”, certified since 2017 and ESAC-accredited since 1995. It covers payroll, benefits administration, workers’ compensation and compliance, and pricing is by quote through a “Get Pricing” form.
ADP TotalSource is a natural fit for companies that already know ADP’s payroll products. The IRS list includes multiple ADP TotalSource entities, which is normal for a large PEO. Confirm which entity will be named on your agreement.
Watch for: quote-only pricing and a broad product line mean you should be specific about which services you want included. Compare on the ADP TotalSource vs TriNet page or view the ADP TotalSource profile.
Insperity: Best for Hands-On HR Service
Insperity sells its PEO bundled with HR technology, either its own or Workday. Its current products are HR360 (HR technology plus full-service PEO) and HRScale (Workday HR technology plus full-service PEO), with HRCore as a non-PEO option. Insperity is headquartered in Kingwood, Texas, and prices every client individually.
Insperity’s pricing page states that its “service is not one size fits all, and neither are our quotes”. The IRS active CPEO list includes Insperity PEO Services, L.P. and Insperity PEO HR, Inc. HRScale pairs the full-service PEO with Workday HR technology.
Watch for: older reviews refer to plan names Insperity no longer uses on its product pages, so match any quote to the current HR360 or HRScale packaging. See the Insperity profile.
Paychex PEO: Best for a Dedicated Support Team
Paychex PEO assigns a named team to each client. Paychex lists a client advocate, an HR business partner, a payroll specialist and, for clients on its PEO master workers’ compensation policy, a safety specialist. Pricing is by consultation; Paychex says costs depend on company size, industry, services selected and employee count.
Paychex’s PEO page cites research from NAPEO, the PEO industry association, estimating savings of $1,775 per employee per year from using a PEO. Treat that as the industry association’s figure, not a guarantee for your business. The IRS active CPEO list includes Paychex PEO entities.
Watch for: the safety specialist applies only if you use Paychex’s master workers’ compensation policy, so ask how that policy’s rates compare with your current carrier. If you only need payroll from Paychex, see Paychex Flex.
Sequoia One: Best for Venture-Backed Tech Startups
Sequoia One positions itself as a PEO for tech startups. It states that it is both ESAC-accredited and an IRS-certified PEO, and its FAQ says PEO clients typically have around 10 to 200 employees. Pricing is by quote.
Sequoia One markets itself as “the most referred PEO company in tech”. It fits founders who want startup-grade benefits to compete for engineers, without building an HR team. See the Sequoia One profile.
Watch for: the stated sweet spot starts around 10 employees, so a three-person company may find a better fit with Justworks’ two-employee minimum.
Rippling PEO: Best for Startups That May Outgrow a PEO
Rippling’s differentiator is the exit. It says you can “move off PEO without replacing your underlying system”. It includes EPLI and workers’ compensation coverage and access to certified HR experts. Pricing is by custom quote.
That matters because leaving a traditional PEO usually means re-implementing payroll, re-enrolling benefits and re-registering for state taxes at the same time. Rippling’s model removes the software part of that work. Rippling PEO was not on the IRS active CPEO list we checked, so ask Rippling how federal employment tax liability is handled under its agreement.
Watch for: Rippling quotes based on the services you tell it you need, so list every module you expect to use before comparing. See Rippling, the Rippling pricing page, or Justworks vs Rippling.
Deel PEO: Best for US PEO Plus International Hiring
Deel pairs a US PEO with its global employer-of-record service. Its US PEO starts at $125 per employee per month and covers all 50 states, with healthcare, dental, vision, mental health, fertility and 401(k) benefits. The same platform runs EOR employees abroad at $599 per employee per month.
Deel was offering three months of PEO platform fees as a credit, applied at the end of the initial term, on two-year contracts signed between July 15 and December 31, 2026 when we checked. Ending early means paying list price for the full term, including the credit’s value. Deel PEO was not on the IRS active CPEO list, so confirm how tax liability is allocated in your agreement.
Watch for: the promotional credit needs a two-year term; weigh that commitment against how long you expect to stay in a PEO. See Deel and the Deel pricing page. If international hiring is the main need, our EOR vs PEO guide explains which model fits.
What Size Company Should Use a PEO?
PEOs are built for companies from a handful of employees up to a few hundred. Justworks accepts businesses with two W-2 employees, TriNet serves five to more than 1,000, and Sequoia One says its clients typically have 10 to 200. The fit is strongest when benefits quality matters for hiring and nobody in-house owns HR.
Signs a PEO is a good fit:
- You are hiring and losing candidates on benefits.
- You have employees in several states and no one tracking each state’s rules.
- Workers’ compensation or HR compliance takes more founder time than it should.
Signs a payroll tool is enough:
- You already have a benefits broker you trust and competitive plans.
- You employ people in one state and have someone who handles HR admin.
- You want full control over plan design and carrier choice.
If the second list sounds like you, start with the payroll software category or our payroll software guide.
What Are the Downsides of a PEO?
The main downsides are shared control, opaque pricing and a hard exit. The PEO becomes co-employer, so you choose from its benefits plans and follow its processes. Most providers only quote, which makes comparison slow. Leaving can mean re-registering state tax accounts, re-enrolling benefits and moving payroll history in one go.
- Co-employment. Gusto’s own comparison page puts it simply: with a payroll provider, you remain the employer of record; with a PEO, the PEO becomes the employer of record.
- Less benefits choice. You pick from the PEO’s plans, not the whole market.
- Quote-based pricing. Admin fees, benefits premiums and workers’ compensation are often bundled, so ask for each line separately.
- Exit work. Plan an exit before you sign. Rippling is the only provider here that states you can leave the PEO and keep the same system.
- Certification gaps. Not every PEO is an IRS-certified CPEO; check the list.
How to Choose a PEO for Your Small Business
Get three quotes, compare them line by line, and check certification before price. Ask each PEO to separate its admin fee from benefits premiums, workers’ compensation and state unemployment. Then compare those lines, not the total, because the total hides where each provider is expensive.
- Confirm CPEO status on the IRS list, using the legal entity named in the contract.
- Request a line-item quote: admin fee per employee, medical, dental and vision premiums by tier, workers’ compensation rate by class code, and state unemployment rate.
- Check benefits in your states. Ask which carriers and plan designs are available where your employees live.
- Read the term and exit clauses. Minimum terms, termination notice and what happens to benefits mid-year.
- Test the software. Run a payroll in a demo account and ask how time tracking and accounting sync work.
- Ask about support: who you call, response times, and whether you get a named contact.
Our longer guide to choosing PEO software goes through each step. If you are weighing outsourcing payroll only, see payroll outsourcing services.
Related reading: How Much Does Payroll Cost in 2026? Per-Employee Pricing Across 13 Providers
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the average cost of a PEO?
Among PEOs that publish prices, admin fees run from $79 to $125 per employee per month (Justworks Basic $79, Justworks Plus $124, Deel from $125). Most other PEOs quote. Confirm with each provider whether benefits premiums and workers’ compensation are included in the fee or billed separately.
Which PEOs are IRS-certified?
Of the providers in this guide, these appear on the IRS active CPEO list dated August 7, 2026:
- Justworks
- TriNet (a TriNet HR entity)
- ADP TotalSource
- Insperity
- Paychex PEO
- Sequoia One
What is the minimum number of employees for a PEO?
It varies. Justworks requires at least two W-2 employees, TriNet serves companies from five employees, and Sequoia One says its clients typically have around 10 to 200.
Is Gusto a PEO?
No. Gusto is payroll and HR software. Gusto states that with its product you remain the employer of record, while a PEO becomes the employer of record for your employees.
Is a PEO worth it for a small business?
It is usually worth pricing out if you are hiring and need competitive benefits, or if you employ people in several states. It is less compelling if you already have strong benefits through a broker and someone who handles HR. Get quotes and compare them against payroll software plus your current benefits costs.
What is the difference between a PEO and an EOR?
A PEO co-employs staff in a country where you already have a legal entity, usually the US. An EOR is the sole legal employer, typically in countries where you have no entity; Deel, for example, prices EOR at $599 per employee per month.
Can I leave a PEO?
Yes, subject to your contract’s term and notice period. Plan for new state tax registrations, a benefits transition and moving payroll history. Rippling says its customers can move off PEO while keeping the same software.
Compare alternatives to the tools in this post

- Independent picks for exactly what you just read about
- Matched to your team size & needs
- Vendors don't pay for placement
Step 1 of 4
How big is your team?
We tailor recommendations to companies your size.
Related Articles
Best Tools
Best Rank Tracker Tools in 2026: 8 Options Compared by Price and Keywords
Continue reading →
Best Tools
Best Password Manager for Business in 2026: 6 Tools by Price, SSO and SCIM
Continue reading →
AI Software
7 Best AI Meeting Assistants for Teams (2026)
Continue reading →

Best Tools
SaveFrom.net: Norton Clears It, the Ads Are the Risk
Continue reading →




